Latest news
Architecture Art Design Trade fairs Books Awards Various News archive



Winners of the MODA-FAD Awards 2018


The first edition of the MODA-FAD Awards, staged on 6 June, turned into a great festival of fashion talent. Organised by the FAD’s new Association for Fostering Fashion, these awards aim to recognise the work of professionals and businesses from the world of fashion that have made outstanding contributions to the industry during the past year.

The awards are structured into three categories: Merit in Fashion Design, Merit in Fashion Innovation and Award for Talent of the Year. The MODA-FAD board also awards a special recognition to a designer or brand that is currently no longer active but merits recognition for their contribution to the fashion industry.

These are the 2018 winners: The award for Merit in Fashion Design goes to the designer Víctor von Schwarz for his “Doble Vida, 2018” (Double Life, 2018) collection; the Award for Merit in Fashion Innovation to Piñatex® by Ananas Anam, and the Award for Talent of the Year to Pepa Salazar. The designer Gori de Palma won the Special Prize for “transforming sub-cultural movements into a vehicle for the synergies that reveal his creative impulses, which feature a repertoire of references that, enervating each other, lead to a refined, dark, solid signature with a perverse touch”.

Lastly, this first edition of the MODA-FAD Awards paid tribute to the Catalan seamstress and businesswoman Carme Martí Riera (1872 - 1949), who fought to dignify the profession of seamstress. She was also the creator of the Martí System, the first pattern-cutting technique with technical rigour on a worldwide scale.

Some of the pieces by the winners of these awards will be on display until 14 October in “The Best Design of the Year” exhibition at the Disseny Hub Barcelona.


Pl. de les Glòries Catalanes, 37-38
08018 Barcelona. Spain

Share |


Thumb Thumb Thumb Thumb
Thumb Thumb